Design Development

Here I am testing out different positions of the title, after I printed out the first it wasn’t reading how i wanted it to so tried a few other ways. I also mirrored the Background so it would stretch across the spread and lowered the opacity of the image and the title so it isnt as harsh and matches the density of the introductory paragraph.

I played around with adding a box around the paragraph in both white and a 70% opacity box to see if it made the text any clearer.

56

Adidng the box does draw the eye over to the text but i would need to print it to see how effective it is.

Moving on to page 3/4 I have been experimenting wiht different body copy type faces and lots of different columns and margins.

77

Looking at my research I’d seen the use of titles similar to this off centre and stretching over the paragraph. I have decided to use justified type as it fits with the clinicality of the subject matter in the article I also think it contrasts well with the more organic less rigid hand drawn type of the pull out quote which I have just realised might need quotation marks – I will discuss this in the tutorial tomorrow.(friday the 5th may)

The page is looking a little boring and too clinical so I am going to highlight some of the important parts of the article using a similar colour to that of the image on the first two pages this will also add to the consistency of the page. I have found a tutorial on how to do so. Underlining then changing the weight and offset of the line gives the highlight effect. I will also try a hand drawn highlight placed from illustrator to match the type and simply a coloured box with a lowered opacity.

Underline method;

underline highlight

Hand drawn line at 100% opacity

undline 100%

Hand drawn line at 80% opacity underline 80%

I think either the underline or the 80% opacity line work the best but it is just whether or not they will work well across the whole publication now. The hand drawn ties the style of the title into the text but the underline makes the body copy look neater and cleaner so I need to decide which way I want to take it.

Changing the colour of some of the words in the quote lightens the page visually and ties in the colour of the highlights.

colour chnge.png

Looking at the texture I created and the works of Francis Bacon I’m going to try and look into different ways of creating texture – cotton wool, ink and salt – using the curing meat with salt to prolong it and using this as a metaphor for the prolonging of life with the “God pill” the article talks about

boodle hatfield 81
STUDY FOR PORTRAIT OF JOHN EDWARDS 1989
1959_Sleeping_Figure
SLEEPING FIGURE 1959

The colours are visually similar to the ones I have used and connote the flesh, bodily, human tissue like themes that  I want to get across in my piece.

Researching the curing with salt process I found that you just have to cover the meat with sat and spices and leave it for a while, trying this with ink salt and paper might produce some interesting textures/ visuals that I could develop and incorporate into the magazine.

After creating some ink and salt spills I have photographed them and played around in photoshop with the brightness and contrast and levels, also replacing the colours in some to make them fit the scheme of the first page. I think the textures and shapes fit with the clinical, human body theme of the article as they look like blood spills or like growing organisms.

1.png

I have printed all three spreads out in colour but on a smaller scale but the colours of the visual components don’t match up, some have a more purple twinge to them and the images on the ones above aren’t see through enough for the text to be clear so I need to change this.

At this stage, whilst waiting for a tutorial, I have printed off all three spreads to see if they work as a group. I think they look alright but maybe the first and second are too focussed on the left and look a bit samey because of this. I think the text is also too big and might need reducing a pint size(currently 11).

After my tutorial I need to change the point size and be more experimental with the highlights and add even more hand drawn elements – rings around bits of information. We also discussed adding more of the texture elements and including some on the second spread – whilst changing the way I have used them on the 3rd spread to create more of a sweeping thing to work as a path for the eye and so it doesnt effect the legibility of the text. I’m also going to change the way I present the pull out quotes and make more of a show out of them,

1.png

Here I’ve started to add more of the highlights and the page seems to be coming together more now.

23467

We talked about the posibility of having a whole page red, Im not sure where i would fit this in but i tried adding some block colour to the page. But I think it might be too much? I am going to try circle the 15000 deaths bit.

circle title

After a tutorial and peer comments I have realised the circle is still not enough to draw attention to the detail of the 150.000 deaths so I tried a circle and red text however that clashed, here I have got the text underlined, bigger than the rest of the title and in red but it is lacking something still.

red underline title

During the tutorial it was also discussed that some of the highlights could be different opacities to aid with hierarchy and ordering the information.

striek

red texy.png

I decided on the image behind the text and have tried the body copy in red, however it needs printing really to see if you can read the text within the highlight.

graphic circle title

I think I like the red text but i’m torn as to whether or not it is too much, I have created a circling on illustrator as none of the original ones were working.

To make the text on the first spread clearer I have made the section behind it lighter. The legibility is greatly improved without the loss of the effect of the image.

white behid text.png

Using illustrator to create the pull out quotes using the hand drawn type, I used this method for all of the quotes. 2

 

Leave a Reply

